lawmakers vow to draft statute in a year

काठमाण्डु टुडे २०७० मंसिर १४ गते ८:३७ मा प्रकाशित

Pokhara, Nov. 29: The newly-elected Constituent Assembly members from the four constituencies of Kaski district have expressed commitment to take initiatives for issuing a new constitution within a year.

They have vowed to work as the representatives of all the people although they were elected from different parties.

The new lawmakers also said that the number of seats won by a particular party in the Constituent Assembly election should not be the determining factor in drafting a new constitution, rather the constitution which is a common document of all should be formulated based on consensus and compromise according to the 12-point agreement.

They vowed to commit themselves to the development of the district and maximum utilization of the budget allocated for that purpose without any self interest. The new MPs expressed their commitment to work for construction of an international airport and a ring road, controlling pollution of the different lakes and development of tourism in their district.

Those expressing these views are Yagya Bahadur Thapa who was elected from Kaski Constituency No. 1, Sharada Poudel elected from Constituency No. 2, Rabindra Adhikari elected from Constituency No. 3 and Sita Giri who won from Constituency No. 4. Thapa and Poudel belong to the Nepali Congress while Adhikari and Giri to the CPN (UML). Among them, Poudel and Giri are women.

Meanwhile, two political party leaders from Gulmi district have decided to contribute a part of their salary for the education of the underprivileged children.

Nepali Congress central committee member Chandra Bhandari and UCPN (Maoist) central committee member Bamdev Chhetri have made this commitment. Bhandari will spend a part of his salary that he will be drawing as a member of the Constituent Assembly for the education of the children while Chhetri will be spending a part of the income he makes by contributing articles to newspapers and magazines for that purpose. RSS

Copyright © 2016 Department of Information Reg No:460/074/75 About Us