6,343 leaders of 120 political parties in FPTP fray

काठमाण्डु टुडे २०७० असोज २१ गते १८:४२ मा प्रकाशित

Kathmandu, Oct. 7: A total of 6,343 leaders of 120 political parties are contesting the first-past-the-post system of Constituent Assembly election scheduled for November 19.

According to the Election Commission, the number is among those candidates who filed nomination in the district election offices from 240 constituencies across the country, said the EC on Monday.

Election offices in all districts published candidates under the FPTP on Monday.

EC Spokesperson Bir Bahadur Rai said, among the total candidates, 672 are women, 1,019 are independent and one is the third gender. The third gender is Gita Shaithwar, a candidate of Nepal Yuva Kistan Party, who is in the election fray from constituency no 6 of Nawalparasi.

The EC had scheduled October 3 for the filing of nomination under the FPTP system. As per the election schedule, October 8 is for withdrawal of candidacy while October 9 is the day to publish final list and October 10 the day to allocate election symbols.

As many as 130 political parties had registered themselves in the EC while only 120 filed for participation in the FPTP and 124 in the proportional election.Till date, the EC has disqualified 11 candidates.

Closed list of proportional candidates on October 23

             The EC has said it would publish the closed list of the proportional election candidates on October 23. Under this, a total of 124 parties have registered the closed list in the EC.

Spokesperson Rai said the office of the Election Commission, of district election, of district election officer would remain open during the Dashain festival too. RSS

Copyright © 2016 kathmandutoday.com Department of Information Reg No:460/074/75 About Us