Filing of nominations of candidates for fptp starts today

काठमाण्डु टुडे २०७० असोज १७ गते ९:०८ मा प्रकाशित

Kathmandu, Oct. 3: Process of filing the nominations of candidates towards the first-past-the-post (FPTP) election has started today across the nation for the election to the second Constituent Assembly (CA) fixed for November 19.

Nomination filing process has started in all the districts of the country today as specified by the Election Commission (EC) after selection of candidates by political parties for participating in the election was over.

Spokesperson of the EC, Bir Bahadur Rai, said that nomination filing process has begun in offices of the Election Officers of all the districts from 10:00 am and no any untoward incidents have occurred so far.

The EC has been registering nominations of candidates by establishing offices of the election officer at the place of the previous Secretariat of the Army Integration Special Committee at New Baneshwor for registering the nominations of candidates of 10 constituencies of Kathmandu district.

Around one dozen candidates including the Nepali Janta Dal, Nepal Rastriya Party and some independent candidates have filed their nominations so far in Kathmandu.  Strict security has been arranged at the Office of the Election Officer.

Chief of the Metropolitan Police Commissioner, Nabaraj Dhakal, visited the Office of the Election Officer and acquired information about the security situation. Only the candidates, and their proposers and supporters, and some cadres are allowed at the office.  Major political parties including the UCPN (Maoist), Nepali Congress and CPN (UML) are expected to file their nominations after noon today.

The parties have been making preparations to file nominations by organising a rally after gathering at Maitighar Mandala from different parts of Kathmandu valley.

A rally of the CPN (UML) has started for the nominations and rally of the NC is to start later.

Chief Personal Secretary of the Chairman of the UCPN (Maoist), Pushpa Kamal Dahal, Chudamani Khadka, said the candidates of the party would file their nominations after organising a rally at 2:00 pm.

NC President Sushil Koirala, and senior leader Sher Bahadur Deuba, leaders of the UCPN (Maoist), Dr. Baburam Bhattarai and Narayankaji Shrestha, senior leader of the CPN (UML), Madhav Kumar Nepal and Vice-Chairman, Bamdev Gautam, among others, have reached their respective constituencies, out of the valley, for filing their nominations. RSS

Copyright © 2016 Department of Information Reg No:460/074/75 About Us