constituent assembly meeting begins with adopting CA regulations 2064

काठमाण्डु टुडे २०७० माघ ८ गते १२:५३ मा प्रकाशित

Baithak 1Kathmandu, 22 Jan – The meeting of the newly constituted Constituent Assembly (CA) began at the CA building at the International Convention Centre Baneswor of the capital today.

The first meeting of the CA began by observing silence in memory of the known and unknown martyrs who laid down their lives in the various movements that have taken place in the country for democracy.

Following this, Surya Bahadur Thapa, who is chairing the CA as the eldest member, welcomed the CA members and read out the letter of the first meeting of the CA by Chairman of the Council of Ministers Khil Raj Regmi.

The meeting today approved the proposal to run the CA as per the CA Regulations 2065 until the new CA Regulations 2070 is introduced.

Similarly, as per the CA Regulation 2065, the CA meeting unanimously passed the names of Man Bahadur Bishwokarma, Bidya Devi Bhandari, Jutha Bahadur Tode Khadgi, Ram Kumar Subba, Asha Chaturvedi, Bikram Pandey and Akbar Ahmad Saha for presiding over the CA meeting in the absence of the Chairman.

The meeting approved the proposal of extending gratitude to the people, government, Election Commission, journalists, observers and others for the successful accomplishment of the CA election on November 19, 2013.

The first meeting that began at 15:10 pm, ten minutes behind schedule lasted for some 16 minutes.

Chairman of the Council of Ministers, Khil Raj Regmi, and other ministers had taken seats allocated for them in the CA gallery.

Following the meeting, Chairman Regmi told reporters that with the beginning of the CA meeting, he was fully satisfied with his government’s role.

The CA would meet next on 29 January.

Copyright © 2016 Department of Information Reg No:460/074/75 About Us