Major political parties submit closed list of PR candidates

काठमाण्डु टुडे २०७० असोज १८ गते १७:२४ मा प्रकाशित

Kathmandu, Oct. 4: A total of 121 political parties submitted their closed list of candidates for Proportional Representation (PR) system for CA elections 2013.

The political parties submitted their closed lists of candidates reaching the Election Commission within the stipulated time from 10.00 am to 5.00 pm on Friday.

The parties submitting the lists are Unified CPN (Maoist), Nepali Congress, CPN-UML, Terai-Madhes Democratic Party and Federal Socialist Party, among others.

Informing that total 121 political parties, which entered the EC within 5.00 pm today, registered candidacy under PR system, Chief Election Commissioner Nilkantha Uprety said it took little longer time to keep closed lists of candidates arranged due to some technical difficulties.

‘The EC urges political parties concerned to arrange the basic requirements such as representation of class, ethnicity and number in closed list on Saturday’, he added. He urged the parties to comply with the Act.

The EC has taken today’s incident of shooting at CPN-UML’s candidate’s from Bara District Constituency No. 4 Mohammud Alam seriously, he said, urging the government to arrange for security of all candidates.

Senior leaders of the parties reached the EC to submit the closed lists, said the EC sources. In the first phase, second-tier leaders of the major political parties had reached the Commission along with the closed list and were then followed by the senior leaders.

UCPN (Maoist) Chairman Pushpa Kamal Dahal, NC President Sushil Koirala, CPN-UML Chairman Jhalanath Khanal, Chairperson of MJF-D Bijaya Kumar Gachchadar and President of Federal Socialist Party Ashok Rai had reached the Commission today.

The leaders then held separate discussion with the Chief Election Commissioner Upreti in order to resolve any problems seen in their list of PR candidates.

Talking to reporters on the occasion, UCPN (Maoist) Chairman Pushpa Kamal Dahal said the registration process too a long time due to some technical complexities in the number of seats allocated under the PR system.

Likewise, UML Chairman Jhalanath Khanal also said that some time was needed to improve some shortcomings in the closed list submitted on behalf of the party.

Though 124 parties had registered themselves at the Commission for PR election system, only 121 parties today submitted their closed list of candidates for the same.

Nepal Prajatantrik Pragatisheel Party, Rastriya Shiva Sena Party and Samyukta Rastrabadi Party Nepal did not take part in the nominations today. RSS

Copyright © 2016 Department of Information Reg No:460/074/75 About Us