APF wins Women’s National Cricket Tournament

काठमाण्डु टुडे २०७१ फागुन १० गते १:२४ मा प्रकाशित

Kathmandu, Feb 22– The defending champion Nepal APF Club has clinched the Women’s National Cricket Tournament by thrashing Janakpur-7 by seven wickets in the final match held in the capital city on Saturday.

In the match dominated by bowling attack and held at the Cricket Field in Kirtipur, Janakpur posted a meagre target of 98 runs in 40 overs play choosing to bat first after winning toss.

AFP Club reached the target in 24.3 overs with a loss of three wickets. APF’s Nira Rajoupadhaya, who took a five-wicket haul, tore through the Janakpur’s batting lineup. APF’s Rubina Chetri took two wickets while Ritu Kanojiya, Binu Budhamagar, Sita Rana Magar took one wicket each to restrict Janakpur within triple digit score.

Janakpur’s batswomen could not withstand the onslaught of the APF bowlers. Janakpur’s Anuradha Chaudhari scored the highest for her team with 28 while Mamata Chaudhary made 20 runs and Roji Kadari 12 whereas other batswomen could not post double digit runs. Janakpur’s bowling attack remained largely ineffective.

The winning team received a cash prize of Rs 50,000 with a trophy while Janakpur received Rs 30,000 with a trophy.

The woman-of-the-tournament Sanju Chaudhary of Nepalgunj-5 received Rs 10,000 while best batswoman Sangeeta Rai of Biratnagar-1 and best bowler Shanti Chaudhary of Janakpur received Rs 5,000 each in cash prize. Sangeeta Rai also won the title of best emerging player.

Copyright © 2016 kathmandutoday.com Department of Information Reg No:460/074/75 About Us